Happy Birthday, RFGR! (plus, goodbye)

On October 30th, 2014, I wrote my first blog post on this blog.  You can read it here.

It’s more than a bit crazy to think I’ve been blogging for an entire year already.  It’s been pretty cool though.   And much more eye opening than I thought it would be.

Blogging, like any other project one decides to commit to, is friggin’ hard.  It is a lot of work to plan blog posts and try to build your platform and brand and followers and all that.  Oh, and live your life.  It is/was – unbeknownst to me this time, one year ago – pretty stressful.  It can actually consume you a wee bit, and it did consume me for awhile there.

Like many bloggers I’ve met and/or spoken to, a big reason why I started blogging was to have a place to write.  Again, unbeknownst to me a year ago, blogging and writing are not one and the same.  I mean, they both involve writing stuff down, sure.  But they are absolutely not the same thing.  At all, in my humble opinion.  And for me, I seem to enjoy writing – and am better at it (again, in my humble opinion) – than I do blogging.

Oh, the things I’ve learned over the past year. 😉

I’ve had a lot of great support for my blog, much of it from family and friends who heard about my blog from me, but also from a few strangers from various parts of the world.  I still remember getting my first comment from a read who I was not related to in any way.  I thought it was pretty darn cool.

To everyone who has read this blog and supported me over the last year, THANK YOU!  I appreciate you more than you know. 🙂

And with that, I say goodbye.

Okay, okay.  Not goodbye forever.

I say goodbye for the next few Fridays at least.  I’ve decided to take planned time away from the blog for two reasons.

#1: Over the past little while, my husband and I have been talking about making some changes to our brand.  These changes will involve this blog.  But as Olaf says to the big, scary Snowman Monster who’s trying to squish him… All good things, all good things. 🙂

(hopefully, you know who Olaf is.  If not, Google him.)

#2: I’m participating in NaNoWriMo.  National Novel Writing Month.  Throughout the entire 30 days of November, I’m writing a novel.

Wow.  That is SO weird to put down on paper.  I’m writing a novel.  CRAZY.

I’ve been writing every day for the past five days, and its been going really great.  I’m sure I will experience some not so great days along the way.  But in order for me to finish the month out on a great note and achieve the NaNoWriMo goal of writing 50,000 words in 30 days (or more, depending on your daily word count. #writinggoals), I need to devote all of my creative energy to my novel.

So my poor wee blog will sit quiet for a little while.  But I promise to be back soon (hopefully with a finished or close-to-finished novel.  Cue nervous laughter and nail biting), and to bring ‘all good things’ to you when I return, dear Reader.

And so… good night and good luck.

(I know it’s mid day, but its a great line that I’ve always wanted to use.  So, there it is.  Enjoy.)


Leave a Reply

