If You Hate Science, Read This

I wasn’t good at science back in my school days.  It wasn’t my worst subject by a long shot (hey, what’s up, math!) but it wasn’t my best either.  Despite the fact I wasn’t great at it, I enjoyed it.  I liked science – and still like science – because it’s definitive. It proves things, or works to prove things which, in turn, prove other things.  Things with proof mean that you can look at that thing and say, “That’s real.  That right there is a thing and I can feel good about how I choose to use that thing in my life.”

Marketing is a thing and there is actual science behind it, stuff like if you include certain images or colours or words in your advertising, consumers are more likely to buy what you’re selling.  This holds very, very true with food and what you decide to feed yourself.

There are all types of buzzwords out there, created by that marketing thing, that affect your buying and consumption habits when it comes to food, whether you want to admit it or not.  As I’ve talked about before, I used to be That Person who would buy something because it was labelled a certain way or because I’d read a few articles online about how healthy it was supposed to be for me.  Even though I’ve since changed the way I think about food in that light, sometimes my old habits slip back into my mind and I find myself making a judgment call based on nothing scientifically relevant or factual.  Old habits die hard and all that.

I came across this fantastic video that I wanted to share with you that sort of touches on this idea – that when you consider the science, the factual proof behind something, your perspective might be changed and what you thought you knew might be questioned.

But the one thing I want to add is that questioning what you think you know is totally okay.  It might bring you way out of your comfort zone and be kinda scary but it will be worth it in the end because you’ll be a more knowledgeable person who’s better able to make decisions about yourself and your life.

Enjoy the video, courtesy of AsapScience on YouTube, and let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

