Farm Fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies

So obviously, it is no longer Friday.  But instead of a long list of reasons why this post is happening today instead of yesterday, I give you instead… The Recipe.

When I say this recipe is award-winning, I am totally serious.  Sure, it may be award-winning from the Glencoe Fair (the best, most amazing small town fall fair I have ever experienced in my life, ever), but it was an award nonetheless.  And I’m about to share it with you!

I’ve made this recipe so many times that I can practically do it in my sleep.  I’m also fairly confident in the outcome if and when I decide to play around and make substitutions.  I do that sometimes because, well, let me be very frank with you – a health-conscious recipe this is not.  There is butter.  And sugar.  And shortening (yes, shortening).  And sometimes, I like to see if I can make changes and achieve the same excellence.  This has yet to be achieved.

I’ve made this recipe both by hand and with a stand mixer and either works well, so use whatever blows your hair back (and out of your mix. Haha.  Also, ew).  You just sort of have to have some serious elbow grease near the end if you’re doing it by hand.

As well, if you’re using stoneware, you may need to add an extra minute or two to the baking time in order to allow the stone to warm up and thus bake everything properly.

So, without further ado, I give you… Farm Fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Enjoy.  And you’re welcome. 😉

IMG_5754

I purchased this phenom of a cookbook as a birthday gift to myself last year.  I could not have made a better purchase.  If you have a chance to pick up this cookbook, you will not be disappointed.  Everything I’ve made from these pages, including our chocolate chip cookie recipe here, has been delicious (and has also won me a few more awards!).  I highly recommend it.

(just FYI, the link is to the 16th edition, not the gift edition pictured above)

Anyway.  Recipe.  Right.

IMG_5751

These are your ingredients.  Note that I’ve subbed in coconut oil for veggie oil/lard and also did 1.5 cups of brown sugar instead of 1 cup brown and 1/2 cup white (granulated) sugar.  As well, I’ve used imitation coconut extract instead of vanilla.  Had me a hankering for the tropics in cookie form, I suppose.

And yes, there are two types of chocolate chips pictured there.  It’s a happy accident that I had both in my pantry which then enabled me to add both to the recipe.

Mind.  Blown.

To make sure you don’t forget to do it later, preheat your oven to 375 degrees farenheit. I forget to do this sometimes and it’s quite a bother to keep ready-to-bake cookies waiting!

Start out by whipping your butter on its own for a minute or two.  This is especially important if it’s rather chilly where you are and your room temperature butter resembles more of a brick than something you can easily slice through.  Once you’re done whipping the butter by itself, add in your oil/lard and whip again.

IMG_5766

Sugar, fats, eggs, flavour, all mixed together.  Yum.

Once that combo is looking good and creamy, add in your sugars, baking soda and salt. Whip it.  Then add in your eggs and flavour.  Whip it good.

Now comes the flour and chocolate chips.  This recipe calls for 2 3/4 cups of flour.  This is a lot for a cookie recipe and, as such, makes this dough very thick once added.  So proceed with caution.  Add in the little bits of awesomeness that are chocolate chips and you’re got a batter that will give the horsepower of your mixer a run for its money.  So if you’ve got to finish it off by hand with a wooden spoon, go for it.  Whatever ensures a proper mixture!

IMG_5772

Thick, glorious chocolate chip cookie dough.  Double yum.

Now there are two things I prefer doing when preparing these cookies to bake.  The first is to line my baking sheet with parchment paper.  It just makes clean up way easier and keeps the cookie bottoms a nice golden brown and not a smudgey brown because of all the baked on stuff from the pan (gross, yes, but you totally know what I mean).

The second is that I like to roll the dough between my hands and shape into balls as opposed to just scooping it out onto the baking sheet in a lump.  I prefer a round cookie, not a misshapen one.  And rolling it into a ball first results in a round cookie.  Baking Jess FTW.

IMG_5783

Round, ready and awesome.

Once prepped and ready on the baking sheet, pop them into your preheated oven for 8 or 9 minutes. My oven is fairly new but not convection so the temperature, and therefore timing accuracy for baking, is pretty standard.  Use your own discretion based on your own oven. We don’t discriminate against finicky ovens here.

IMG_5805

Golden gorgeousness in cookie form.

Once you’ve taken the loveliness that are your new favourite cookies from the oven, let them cool on a wire rack for a few minutes before you devour one.  Or seven.

These cookies go wonderfully with ice cream (hello, home-made ice cream sandwich!), as a snack on the go, are a great option to take to social events (you’re welcome, Canada Day/Independence Day block party) or with a simple glass of milk.

Let me know how yours turned out and if you made any substitutions of your own!

Here are a couple other pics from my cookie photo shoot (which was super fun but so much harder than I thought it would be!  I hope the photos are okay!)…

IMG_5830

Farmers love these cookies! (but not this farmer.  He was too busy to stop for a snack)

IMG_5822

Yummy, chocolate chippity awesomeness.  With milk!

Farm Fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields about 60 tablespoon sized cookies or 30 larger cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup shortening or vegetable oil

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1, 12-ounce package (2 cups) semisweet chocolate pieces or miniature candy coated semisweet chocolate pieces

1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts, pecans, or hazelnuts (filberts), toasted (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees farenheit.  In a large bowl, beat butter and shortening with an electric mixer on medium high-speed for about 30 seconds.  Add the brown sugar, granulated sugar, baking soda, and salt.  Beat until mixture is combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined.  Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer.  Stir in any remaining flour.  Stir in chocolate pieces and, if desired, nuts.

2. Drop dough by rounded tablespoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 8 or 9 minutes or until edges are just light brown.  Cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack and let cool.


One thought on “Farm Fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

